A Homemade Life
Welcome to Homemade Life.

To take full advantage of everything offered by our forum, please log in if you are already a member or join our community if not ....

Chilli-head
Who is online?
In total there are 2 users online :: 1 Registered, 0 Hidden and 1 Guest

Chilli-head

Most users ever online was 62 on Fri Apr 10, 2015 8:24 am
Latest topics
» Kiva - Loans that change lives.
by Chilli-head Yesterday at 2:03 pm

» Harvest season in the September garden
by Dandelion Fri Sep 21, 2018 10:10 pm

» Curry powder
by Chilli-head Wed Sep 19, 2018 6:41 pm

» Tomato Relish
by Ploshkin Mon Sep 17, 2018 9:05 pm

» What are you preserving today?
by Ploshkin Sun Sep 16, 2018 11:08 am

» Reflections on the season - 2018
by Dandelion Fri Sep 14, 2018 7:04 pm

» A good year for the forager ?
by Ploshkin Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:03 pm

» First go at proper wine
by Chilli-head Mon Sep 10, 2018 10:07 am

» What are you harvesting today?
by Chilli-head Sat Sep 08, 2018 9:10 pm

» Pizza oven !
by freebird Mon Sep 03, 2018 4:37 pm

» Plummeting potato sales
by Ploshkin Sun Aug 19, 2018 11:31 am

» The neglected August garden
by freebird Sun Aug 19, 2018 10:27 am

» New Things In Your Pond Today...
by FloBear Wed Aug 15, 2018 4:57 pm

» The magazine rack
by Chilli-head Sun Aug 12, 2018 7:55 pm

» What arts and craft things have you been making lately?
by FloBear Mon Jul 30, 2018 1:53 pm

» Trying to avoid wilting in the July garden
by Dandelion Sun Jul 29, 2018 4:03 pm

» whats on the menu
by FloBear Fri Jul 27, 2018 12:32 pm

» Weekend at the Kettlewell hostel
by Chilli-head Fri Jul 13, 2018 4:56 pm

» No-dig gardening & weed control
by freebird Tue Jul 10, 2018 7:40 pm

» Pest Controls...
by Chilli-head Mon Jul 09, 2018 2:09 pm

Statistics
We have 241 registered users
The newest registered user is bobfoz

Our users have posted a total of 45869 messages in 2366 subjects
HML on FaceBook
RSS feeds




pearl Barley wine,Recipe.

Go down

default pearl Barley wine,Recipe.

Post by wildbrew on Thu Aug 09, 2012 7:28 pm



This recipe will make two gallons of wine.

ingredients:
3lb-pearl barley.
2lb-potatoes.
2lb-raisins.
4lb-sugar(of witch 1lb can be brown)
5-lemons(juice only,no pith)
1-strong black cup of tea.
1/2tsp-marmite(optional)
1-heap-tsp-all purpose yeast.
1-tbls-finings.
2-tbls-glycerine(to taste)optional.

METHOD:
put the pearl barley in the fermenting bin,peel and dice potatoes,
(discard peel and any green parts)place diced potatoes in the fermenting bin,add raisins after rinsing in hot water and mincing,then put half of the
sugar in 3 pints of hot water and stir until all the sugar as dissolved,
when cool add to the fermenting bin,with the lemon juice,marmite and cold tea,then add 3 more pints of cold water,stir then add yeast and cover.
NOTE:stir the pulp 2 times a day for up to ten days,then strain the pulp in to the demijohn's,add the rest of the sugar in syrup form,and top up with water,fit the airlocks and fully ferment out.
When the fermenting as stoped rack and add finings,when clear rack again and add glycerine to taste.
NOTE:this wine should be left to mature for at least 12 months.
avatar
wildbrew

Posts : 6
Join date : 2012-06-13
Age : 54
Location : Tameside,a-u-l

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum